Reviews

4 of 5 starsReviewed 23 October 2011 NEW

We found Ardawn House through TA and had a wonderfil experience. It was our first time to Galway and while it is a good 500M walk to Eyre Square it is a lovely walk and we made it into town and back twice easily in the day we were there.

Make and Breda made us feel welcome from the moment we showed up at the front door and the room was lovely. Breakfast was super and my eggs were done prefectly and everything else was very nice.

The bathroom was spotless and everything was very nice…….we will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Galway!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 starsReviewed 22 October 2011 NEW

Excellent showers! Not everywhere in Ireland do you get great water pressure in the shower, but here it was. Breda was even able to accommodate an earlier start to our day with a hot breakfast when we needed to catch the bus to take us to the Aran Islands. Breda also gave us good advice on how to see the island. What a great find. So glad we stayed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
5 of 5 starsReviewed 21 October 2011 NEW

My daughter and I spent a few days in Galway and chose to stay at Ardawn House because it was recommended in Steve Rick’s book. We are very happy we made this selection for our stay. Mike and Breda were wonderful hosts and the room we stayed in was very nice. We had an unexpected pleasure when I realized I could see the Greyhound track out our window. Every morning, we had a delicious breakfast made just for us. We selected it from the menu, and it when it arrived it was beautifully presented in addition to being tasty. They were also very helpful with directions and provided us with recommendations of places to eat when we were out and about. Another reason why I liked this B&B is because it was close enough to walk to Eyre Square, but far enough away that you didn’t have a lot of noise at night. If you are looking for a place to stay in Galway, Ardawn House would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: I liked the room that overlooked the Greyhound track because it was very quiet, and we were able to watch the dogs practicing.

See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
5 of 5 starsReviewed 17 October 2011

Many thanks to Mike + Breda. We were 4 professional women travelling around Ireland and were recommended to stay here. We were not disappointed. The best B+B we stayed in !!!!!

Comfortable beds, down duvets, Laura Ashley blankets. New bathrooms, hot showers, fantastic breakfast. Tea, water available 24 hrs.

On a personal note, thank you Mike for helping me with my bags…..you could tell I had a full blown congested Irish head cold coming on and I appreciate your help more than you know. Breda, thank you for the Irish Soda Bread recipe. I havent made it as of yet…..but I will. Cheers !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
4 of 5 starsReviewed 11 October 2011

Ardawn house is well situated for drivers or walkers. It’s about 10 minutes to the center of town and at the hub of major thoroughfares leading out of town. We found the room totally comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Breda was a kick to get to know. This would be an excellent choice if you want a B&B in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
4 of 5 starsReviewed 11 October 2011

We had a lovely stay in Galway at the Ardawn House in September. Mike and Breda were so pleasant and welcoming. We loved the brown bread that Breda made and served for breakfast each day. We enjoyed it so much that she was kind enough to share her recipe with us. Yum!! The rooms are very nice and the B&B is conveniently located to shopping, buses, pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 October 2011

Convenient location near train, bus, and day tour stations. Friendly, helpful hosts. Comfortable rooms. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 September 2011

Our stay at Ardawn House was most enjoyable. Mike and Breda were friendly, helpful, and most hospitable. Food was delicious. Rooms were very nice. We would definitely stay again if we were in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
5 of 5 starsReviewed 25 September 2011

We had a great time at the Ardawn House in July. Mike and Breda Guilfoyle are welcoming and helpful hosts. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was generous, tea and coffee added a nice touch during the day, and the location is super. I’ll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
5 of 5 starsReviewed 17 September 2011

The proprieters Mike and Breda are very hospitable and make you feel very welcome in their home. Their location is within walking distance to town centre and they serve a delicious Irish breakfast. When visiting, I realized I had been there 16 years ago and was staying in the same room!

  • Stayed September 2011
5 of 5 starsReviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed at the Ardawn House saturday september 10th.

Nice room, smallish but very clean. The tea and coffee faciliets were found in the sitting room, a cozy place were we met and talked to other guests.

Another plus is the location especially if you like dog racing as the track is right next door.

The bus station was about 5 minutes walk from the Ardown which is was great as I had to take the express bus to the Dublin aiport. The city center is a few minutes extra walk.

Irish Breakfast Delight at Ardawn HouseLast but not least: the other elements that make a b&b a place you want to come back to are, the breakfast :-) and the friendliness of the owners. I both cases, the Ardawn will absolutely not dissapoint you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 September 2011

Ardawn House is very nice — a great room, excellent breakfast. There is free parking on the premises or overnight on the street (fee during daytime hours). It is a 5-10 minute walk to the “no cars” section of Galway, with its ancient cathedral, restaurants, pubs and shopping. Mike & Breda are excellent hosts, very friendly and especially helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 September 2011

Breda & Mike have a beautiful B&B five minutes walking from Galway centre. Ready with any advice on how to get around and where to eat out. The room was very tidy, with a large enough double bed. A very expansive breakfast buffet plus menu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 September 2011

Mike and Breda are very hospitable and nice. The room was nice, and the breakfast was one of the best of our trip. The B&B is located near the Shop Street area – a quick 10 minute walk. I highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 September 2011

On a busy street, but close to downtown. Mike and Breda make the place; for my wife an I, the experience with the owner/operator is paramount. Mike and Breda went out of their way to be friendly, offer suggestions, etc. Rooms do vary in size, so try for one of the larger ones (like #9 at the top of the stairs … good size, and above the street). Clean, good breakfasts, wonderful hosts; I would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try to get #9

See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
4 of 5 starsReviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I traveled with our adult son for 2weeks, staying mostly at B&Bs recommended by Rick Steves. We would definitely recommend Ardawn House. Mike and Breda are wonderful hosts and we felt right at home. We had a large room, which was very comfortable and the full Irish breakfast was fabulous. Mike uses only local products and everything was fresh and delicious. This was a good central location for all of our side trips, Connemara/Mayo, Aran Islands, and an easy walk into town for shopping, local restaurants and pubs. Good value. The parking is limited but free and it is next to the Greyhound Stadium which is a busy place on the weekends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here and it was fantastic. Free parking, great rooms with ensuite bathrooms, 24 hour coffee, tea, hot chocolate, great breakfast in the morning and wi-fi. The owners are friendly and have great advice on anywhere you want to go in the city or in the surrounding areas. I highly recommend staying here to anyone of all ages.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 starsReviewed 16 August 2011

A couple of the girls and I headed to the races for a few nights in July 2011. The room was immaculate and really nicely decorated. The beds were so comfy we found it hard to get out of them in the morning… although it probably had a lot to do with being out till all hours the night before! Our room was on the top floor, looking onto the greyhound track next door. Some might say that it’s noisy, but we had no problems with noise at all. The owners are so lovely and friendly, extremely accommodating to any special requests and gave us the warmest of welcomes into their home. Breakfast was just delicious with a wide choice and variety. I found the scrambled eggs just magnificent! All in all we had an amazing few days, and staying at Ardawn House was just one of the reasons we’ll be back to the Galway Races again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends